top of page
  • kw4u19

Building 3D environments

Updated: Dec 3, 2020

Alt-modelling technique workshop hosted by GD&A alumnus and game designer, Venezia Georgieva of Mojiworks. Alt-modelling is using procedural generation to create environmental models to speed up many of the design and development processes.

Using the techniques that were shown in a series of lectures, I was tasked to build in Blender, a 3D model street section with buildings or organic plant life or some mix of the two. It began with a simple street template. As I have little experience with blender, I experimented with the procedural generation techniques i had learnt and formed some small basic building shapes as well as some more technical sci-fi skyscrapers.

After the workshop with Venny, I was given a week to create my own 3D environment in blender with the use of procedural placement and alt-modelling techniques. For this task, I decided to build what could be the beginning scene for my game idea; the main characters home in the forest.


I began by creating a plane with a simple road and building a simple house using previous blender knowledge. I used procedural placement techniques for the placement of my trees, the creation of my forest. I did this by assigning a particle system to the plane, restricting the area using weight paint and the randomising the placement, density and scale of my trees.


For the rocks in my scene I used alt-modelling techniques. I started with a solid square and experimented with adding modifiers to quickly create unique rock shapes. Then used the same particle system to randomly distribute them around my scene.


Here is the finished scene:


Here is a close up of the finished scene:



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GDD - What to include

The purpose of a creating a games design document is to have an ordered and descriptive layout of my design choices in a way that it provides clarity and understanding to those I need to convince to d

Game Lenses

There are three lenses to consider when reflecting on game experiences and my own personal game idea development. The lens of projection Is the player able to do something that they otherwise wouldn't

bottom of page